You can use your smart phone to browse stories in the comfort of your hand. Simply browse this site on your smart phone.

    Using an RSS Reader you can access most recent stories and other feeds posted on this network.

    SNetwork Recent Stories

Yukon Legislative Assembly opens with speech from the throne

by pmnationtalk on April 21, 201717 Views

April 20, 2017

The second session of the 34th Yukon Legislative Assembly opened today with a speech from the throne. Commissioner Doug Phillips delivered the speech in the assembly this afternoon.

The speech from the throne illustrated the government’s four key priorities going forward:

  • Building a strong Yukon by creating good jobs in a sustainable economy, with a focus on strengthening and diversifying the economy and protecting the environment.
  • Taking a people-centered approach to wellness to meet the needs of Yukoners because strong, healthy people are the foundation for stronger communities and a strong economy.
  • Investing in our communities with a clear priority on community led solutions.
  • Fostering government-to-government relationships. Restoring and maintaining respectful relationships with First Nation governments is essential to building a strong future for the territory.

The legislative assembly adjourned following the conclusion of the throne speech. On Monday, April 24, the government will begin tabling legislation that will be debated this spring. The key piece of legislation to be debated is the 2017-18 budget. It will be tabled on April 27.


“The Government of Yukon is working with all Yukoners to make their lives better. Our work is centered on building a thriving economy while protecting the environment, restoring respectful government-to-government relationships and investing in communities and taking a people-centered approach to wellness.”

–Premier Sandy Silver

Quick facts

  • The Yukon Legislative Assembly traditionally sits twice a year for a total of 60 days.
  • The first wholly elected legislative council was elected in 1909. It was then called the Territorial Council.
  • In 1977, the Elections Act replaced the Territorial Council with the current legislative assembly.
  • The current legislative assembly is made up of 11 Liberal members, six Yukon Party members and two New Democratic Party members.

Learn more: full text of the speech from the throne


Sunny Patch
Cabinet Communications


Send To Friend Email Print Story

Comments are closed.

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More